蓝图 2
于林汉

2021. 布面丙烯,丝网印刷,马克笔,亚光漆. 228×199cm.

蓝图 4
于林汉

2021. 布面丙烯,丝网印刷,马克笔,亚光漆. 230×200cm.

蓝图 6
于林汉

2021. 布面丙烯,丝网印刷,马克笔,亚光漆. 230×200cm.

装甲 1
于林汉

2021. 布面丙烯,马克笔. 70×60cm.

装甲 2
于林汉

2021. 布面丙烯,马克笔. 70×60cm.

装甲 4
于林汉

2021. 布面丙烯,马克笔. 100×70cm.

装甲 5
于林汉

2021. 布面丙烯,马克笔. 100×70cm.

与陌生共存 14
于林汉

2020. 布面丙烯,丝网印刷,马克笔. 230×200cm.

与陌生共存 16
于林汉

2020. 布面丙烯,丝网印刷,马克笔. 228×199cm.

蜂巢(北京)当代艺术中心荣幸的宣布,将在2021年5月15日至6月30日期间在主展厅A厅推出于林汉的最新个展“透视”。作为继2017年的“轻杂音”与2019年的“另一个人幻觉”后在蜂巢的第三次个展,展览由蜂巢当代艺术中心策展人于非策划,以三个相对独立的展览空间对应于林汉在过去两年里的几条并行的创作线索,并以艺术家的手稿与现场创作的草蛇灰线般的手绘将其打断并重新链接。

 

于林汉1990年出生于北京,2013年从中央美术学院油画系第三工作室毕业之后,便前往德国不来梅艺术学院自由艺术系学习,并于2018年获不来梅大师生学位,目前工作生活于柏林与北京两地之间,近年来广泛地在德国及欧洲各地举办展览项目。对于于林汉而言,艺术世界与现实世界是互相作为象征与喻体的存在,充满了无处不在的偶然性与遥远的相似性。全球化疫情的发生让本属于他个人化的对内自身健康与对外社会现状的双重不安一跃而升成为某种全体人类的内在共识。尽管如此,公共性的事件与个人化的经历并不会直接成为于林汉创作的题材本身,而是源源不断的化为诱发内在经验的触发点,并由他在画面之上接连不断的引爆、弥散。

 

从大约两年前开始,一次在德国例行肺部检查所用的医用吹口催生出了于林汉至今已俨然具有代表性的“紫药水”系列,也由此划出了一条分水岭,让长期关注身体性表达的于林汉更加着重的聚焦于医疗语境下的个人经验,与此同时在视觉上从致密的单色条状布局延展出了网格状的大色块结构。紧接着于林汉展开了对于与人体发生着或将要发生紧密关系的人工器官颇为系统性的关注,用3D建模的方式打造了一系列人工器官,从耳蜗到鼻腔、再到眼球、乃至神经,设计着正在降临中的未来,并由此将这个系列命名为“与陌生共存”。在最为新近的系列“蓝图”与“装甲”当中,于林汉为控制与失控之间的反复对抗与拉锯找到了新的喻体,将上一个阶段的人工器官迭代成为了一系列看似更加随机分散的形象,有套头式的古代刑具、颈部护具、还有为精神病患特质的约束衣。跨越了不同的时代,针对着不同的人群,发挥着不同的功效,却无一例外的与人体有着极其紧密的接触。保护与钳制似乎就只有一线之隔。

 

《疾病的隐喻》在上个世纪七十年代试图扭转对诸如肺结核、艾滋与癌症等疾病的道德批判乃至政治压迫,而当下所蔓延的集体焦虑症让每个人都无一例外的成为了当代社会的病人。我们是否会重蹈覆辙,亦步亦趋的被外界的定义所垄断,从而失去自我检视的机会?答案仍然是悬而未决的。艺术自然无法被行之有效的用来解决实际的社会问题,但这并不影响它用视觉去建立与个体之间高度的精神共振。就像微观世界与宏观世界遵从的是同样的物理法则,于林汉在不同系列作品画面中所搭建的相似又相异的视觉矩阵将超越画面,构成与之相对的矩阵空间,在离散中隔空相连,在观看的缝隙中遭遇自我的审视。

公众号名称:HIVEART2013

Control Plan 2
Yu Linhan

2021. Acrylic on canvas, silk-screen printing, mark-pen, flat paint. 228×199cm.

Control Plan 4
于林汉

2021. Acrylic on canvas, silk-screen printing, mark-pen, flat paint. 230×200cm.

Control Plan 6
于林汉

2021. Acrylic on canvas, silk-screen printing, mark-pen, flat paint. 230×200cm.

Armor 1
于林汉

2021. Acrylic on canvas, mark-pen. 70×60cm.

Armor 2
于林汉

2021. Acrylic on canvas, mark-pen. 70×60cm.

Armor 4
于林汉

2021. Acrylic on canvas, mark-pen. 100×70cm.

Armor 5
于林汉

2021. Acrylic on canvas, mark-pen. 100×70cm.

Foreign Organ 14
于林汉

2020. Acrylic on canvas, silk-screen printing, mark-pen. 230×200cm.

Foreign Organ 16
于林汉

2020. Acrylic on canvas, silk-screen printing, mark-pen. 228×199cm.

Hive Center for Contemporary Art is pleased to announce Yu Linhan’s latest solo exhibition, Perspective in gallery A from May 15 to June 30, 2021. This exhibition is the artist’s third solo exhibition at Hive after Faint Murmur in 2017 and Illusion of Doubles in 2019. Perspective is curated by Yu Fei. This exhibition consists of three relatively independent spaces that correspond to Yu’s several parallel creative clues in the past two years. They are interrupted and reconnected by the artist’s manuscript, and the redolent drawings created on-site.

 

Yu Linhan was born in Beijing in 1990. After graduating from the Third Studio of the Oil Painting Department of the Central Academy of Fine Arts in 2013, he studied at the Liberal Art Department at Hochschule für Künste Bremen in Germany and received his Meister-schüler Degree in 2018. He currently lives and works in between Berlin and Beijing. His works have been widely exhibited in Germany and throughout Europe in recent years. For Yu Linhan, the art world and reality mutually exist as symbols and metaphors, full of ubiquitous contingencies and distant similarities. Having experienced a global pandemic has made his internalized uneasiness about both his health and the external social situation leap into an intrinsic consensus of humans. Nevertheless, public events and personal history are not explicitly revealed in Yu Linhan’s work. Rather, they are a constant source of inducers for private affairs while continuously being triggered and diffused in his works.

 

Yu Linhan’s now-iconic Gentian Violet series was evoked by a medical mouthpiece from a routine pulmonary examination in Germany approximately two years ago. It also marked a decisive moment, allowing Yu, who has long been focusing on bodily expression, to concentrate more on private experience in a medical context while visually extending a dense monochromatic strip layout to a grid structure of large color blocks. Immediately afterward, Yu Linhan introduced a systematic focus on artificial organs that are or will be closely related to the human body. From the standpoint of designing the upcoming future, he created this series entitled Foreign Organ, using 3D modeling to build artificial organs, including the cochlea, the nasal cavity, the eye, and even the nerves. In his most recent series Control Plan and Armor, Yu uncovered a new metaphor for the recurring confrontation that goes back and forth between control and loss of control, iterating the artificial organs of the previous phase into a series of seemingly more randomly scattered images, including the ancient torture device, the neck brace, and the restraint suit for the mentally ill. They range across different eras for different people and provide different functions, but all contain remarkably close contact with the human body without exception. There seems only to be a thin line between protection and restraint.

 

In the 1970s, Illness as Metaphor attempted to rectify the moral criticism and even political oppression regarding diseases such as tuberculosis, AIDS, and cancers. The collective anxiety spreading today has transformed everyone, without exception, a patient in contemporary society. Will we repeat the mistake of being monopolized by external definitions and thus lose the opportunity to self-examine? The answer is yet to be determined. Inherently, art cannot be used effectively to solve specific social issues, but this does not affect its ability to establish a high level of spiritual resonance with individuals visually. Just as the microcosm and macrocosm observe the same physical laws, the similar yet different visual matrices built by Yu Linhan in various series transcend the paintings and form a comparative matrix space, connecting in discrete space and confronting self-examination in the gap of viewing.

Please scan the QR code to follow us on WeChat :HIVEART2013