手系列 – 蜡烛
夏禹

2021. 木板坦培拉. 40×50cm.

棉花四
夏禹

2021. 木板坦培拉. 40×40cm.

平板支撑
夏禹

2021. 木板坦培拉. 160×200cm.

在地铁上
夏禹

2021. 木板坦培拉. 200×160cm.

Sober
夏禹

2021. 木板坦培拉. 200×160cm.

折鹤二
夏禹

2021. 木板坦培拉. 50×40cm.

上山
夏禹

2021. 木板坦培拉. 200×160cm.

在上班
夏禹

2021. 木板坦培拉. 200×160cm.

时刻一
夏禹

2021. 木板坦培拉. 100×80cm.

电动车,落日,狗
夏禹

2021. 木板坦培拉. 200×160cm.

花与女子
夏禹

2021. 木板坦培拉. 100×80cm.

某时刻三
夏禹

2021. 木板坦培拉. 120×90cm.

上山 II
夏禹

2021. 木板坦培拉. 200×160cm.

喝茶
夏禹

2021. 木板坦培拉. 40×40cm.

蜂巢当代艺术中心荣幸的宣布,将在2021年7月10日至8月29日期间在主展厅A厅推出夏禹的最新个展“此时此地”。展览由蜂巢当代艺术中心策展人于非策划。此次展览是夏禹继“新青年”(2014)、“叙事体(2015)”、“果园”(2017)、“虚拟语气”(2019)后在蜂巢的第五次个展,展出他近一年来的最新坦培拉绘画创作。

 

夏禹从不去画他所切身感受之外的生活与情绪,因此入画的人物从他创作之初便带有实实在在的烟火气,并且追随着时间的步伐逐渐迭代。像是从温存的相片走入现实的片场,作品的尺幅随着画面中的人物一同胀大,直至真人般的大小。那些记忆里的父母爱情,姐弟情深,亲密关系与青年愁滋味,在近年的创作中逐渐蜕变成现在进行时的都市生活图鉴,丰富而熟悉的生活场景让人代入感十足。无论是与宠物的美好独居生活,与朋友爱人的结伴之旅,亦或是通勤时分的走神放空,遇到棘手工作时的颓唐困顿,都让我们直面绘画中的另一个自己,是在巨大的幸福喜悦与极端的失意落寞之间体验着日复一日平凡生活的最为平均的大多数。

 

克制的人物情绪一直以来都是夏禹通过绘画所极力塑造的。中庸内敛于他而言是一种抹不掉的民族底色,尤其从个体脱离原生家庭之后开始扮演各自的社会角色与情感角色之时起,“喜怒不形于色,好恶不言于表”,早已成为了当代成年人的自我修养。因此在夏禹画中的人物脸上看不出明显的表情,总是平淡而自持的。然而这些人物的情绪也并非无懈可击,手部作为人的第二张脸被夏禹赋予了更加细腻丰富的表情。手部甚至常常作为主角出现在夏禹的小画里。反反复复画了十年的手早已超越了艺术史中的图像母题,成为了充满自省力的自我审视的物证。

 

夏禹所描绘的只是现代都市生活场景的一隅,并非包罗万象但足具代表性。画中人不断游走在居所与公司,城市与自然之间,在家务与工作,发呆与娱乐当中无缝衔接,在一次次生活空间的转场间歇切换不同的身份与角色。现代人的选择看似多样,却似乎再难拥有古人的避世之所和一片精神的自留地。生活从未变得如此的富足而有限,标准而疲惫。新的时代催促着每个个体将自己训练为时间管理大师,成为消费主义框架之下“Work hard, Play hard”的生活哲学家。夏禹的绘画恰恰展现了标准生活的破绽,正视生活中总会出现的无聊瞬间,却也自有平凡真实的可爱之处。

 

公众号名称:HIVEART2013

Hand Series-Candle
Xia Yu

2021. Tempera on board. 40×50cm.

Cotton IV
Xia Yu

2021. Tempera on board. 40×40cm.

Plank
Xia Yu

2021. Tempera on board. 160×200cm.

On the Metro
Xia Yu

2021. Tempera on board. 200×160cm.

Sober
Xia Yu

2021. Tempera on board. 200×160cm.

Fold Paper Crane II
Xia Yu

2021. Tempera on board. 50×40cm.

Go up on the Mountain
Xia Yu

2021. Tempera on board. 200×160cm.

At Work
Xia Yu

2021. Tempera on board. 200×160cm.

Moment No.1
Xia Yu

2021. Tempera on board. 100×80cm.

E-bike, Sunset, Dog
Xia Yu

2021. Tempera on board. 200×160cm.

Blossom and Lady
Xia Yu

2021. Tempera on board. 100×80cm.

Moment No.3
Xia Yu

2021. Tempera on board. 120×90cm.

Go up the Mountain II
Xia Yu

2021. Tempera on board. 200×160cm.

Drink Tea
Xia Yu

2021. Tempera on board. 40×40cm.

Hive Center for Contemporary art is honored to announce Xia Yu’s latest solo exhibition, “Here and Now,” at gallery A from July 10 to August 29, 2021. This exhibition is curated by Yu Fei. Presenting his most recent tempera works, “Here and Now” is Xia’s fifth solo exhibition at Hive after “New Youth: Works by Xia Yu (2014),” “Xia Yu: Narrative (2015),” “Xia Yu: Orchard (2017),” and “Xia Yu: Subjunctive Mood (2019).”

 

Xia Yu never paint lives and sentiments beyond his personal experience. The characters in his work render a worldly quality since the very beginning of his practice, and gradually evolve with the pace of time. Like shifting from a warm photograph to a realistic film set, the size of his paintings expands along with the figures in them, ultimately to life-size. The love of parents, affection of siblings, intimacy of relationships, and sorrow of youths from reminiscences have gradually morphed into a catalog of present tense urban lifestyle during his recent years of practice. The vibrant and familiar quotidian scenes provide more than déjà-vu, whether it is a cozy scene of living alone with pets, a trip with friends or lovers, a moment of spacing out during commute, or the distress and exhaustion of encountering stressful tasks. In the paintings, all of the characters expect us to confront our other selves, the most mediocre majority who endure ordinary everyday life among great joy and utter disappointment.

 

Restrained emotions of the figures have been something Xia Yu always attempts to contour in his paintings. For him, moderation and introspection are national characteristics that cannot be easily obliterated. It has been proclaimed as the self-refinement of contemporary adults not to reveal or manifest their affections or anguish, especially since individuals assume their respective roles in society and relationships after separating from their families of origin. Therefore, the faces of the figures in Xia’s work do not unveil any explicit expression but calmness and self-preservation. However, their sentiments are not undetectable, as their hands, functioning as the second profile of a person, are given more subtle and dynamic interpretations by the artist. Hands even serve as the principal role in Xia Yu’s smaller-scaled works. The hands he has repeatedly painted for ten years have transcended the imagery motif of art history and become physical evidence of self-examination with introspection.

 

What Xia Yu portrays is merely a glance of contemporary urban life, not comprehensive but representational enough. The figures in his work are perpetually roaming between their residence and work, city and nature, and seamlessly shifting among chores and tasks, daydream and recreation, switching between various identities and roles in the interval of one living space after another. There seem to be diverse choices offered to the contemporary lifestyle, but it appears that it is no longer possible to own a place of refuge or a spiritual escape like ancient literati. Life has never been so vibrant and limited, common and exhausting. The new era urges every individual to be trained as a master of time management and become a philosopher of life under the framework of consumerism with the slogan of “Work hard, play hard.” Xia Yu’s paintings precisely expose the defects of a typical life, confronting the dull moments that continually appear, which can be lovely in their unpretentious truthfulness.

Please scan the QR code to follow us on WeChat :HIVEART2013