斑马线上的偶遇
七户優

2022
布面油画
162×97cm×3

绿竹
任小林

2022
布面油画
100×150cm

Bondage V
宋琨

2022
布面油画,PVC透明皮带
125×90×6cm

坠落
宋琨

2022
木板油画
26×36.5×4cm

天使
谭永勍

2022
布面油画
360×135cm

金色肖像
谭永勍

2022
布面油画
190×200cm

青持
祝铮鸣

2022
绢本设色
198×115cm

女孩
段建伟

2021
布面油画
50×40cm

绘画1
任小林

2021
110×79cm

绘画 2
任小林

2021
纸本油彩,色粉,油画棒,木炭条
110×79cm

绘画 3
任小林

2021
纸本油彩,色粉,油画棒,木炭条
110×79cm

鲛人泣珠-月的潮汐
宋琨

2021
布面油画
190×130×7cm

赛博歌姬-朱婧汐
宋琨

2021
布面油画、玻璃珠、夜光色
225×145×5cm

游侠
韦嘉

2021
布面丙烯
205×300cm

长隐
祝铮鸣

2021
绢本设色
112×198cm

西北
段建伟

2020
布面油画
73×60cm

偶像-大卫与歌利亚II
龚辰宇

2019
纸本素描
296×197.5cm

偶像-模特
龚辰宇

2019
纸本素描
122.5×98.5 cm

Weight of Night
七戶優

2018. 木板油画. 51×36cm.

About Friendship
七戶優

2018. 木板油画. 51×36cm.

My Sun
韦嘉

2018
布面丙烯
220×190cm

休息
段建伟

2016. 布面油画. 130×160cm.

蹲着的小孩
段建伟

2004. 布面油画. 132×110cm.

艺术家 | Artists:

段建伟|Duan Jianwei, 龚辰宇|Gong Chenyu, 七户優|Masaru Shichinohe, 任小林|Ren Xiaolin, 宋琨|Song Kun, 谭永勍|Tan Yongqing,韦嘉|Wei Jia, 祝铮鸣|Zhu Zhengming

策展人 | Curator:

于非 | Yu Fei

蜂巢当代艺术中心荣幸地宣布,将于2022年3月19日至2022年5月4日在A厅推出本年度首个绘画群展“形象的迷思”。本次展览由蜂巢策展人于非策划,特别邀请了段建伟、龚辰宇、七户優、任小林、宋琨、谭永勍、韦嘉、祝铮鸣,八位以具象绘画为创作核心的艺术家。 展览将艺术家们所各自施展的不同密度的笔触与不同质地的造型汇集到一处,一同见证他们如何召唤出寄居于不同时空背景之中的绘画主体。

从人的形象自史前岩画中脱胎之时起,绘画的历史当中就有了绝对的主角。对于人物形象的塑造方式在穿越漫长而不同的历史时期中不断被打破、推翻、重塑、巩固,并且周而复始。创作者们总能在具象绘画的创作中给自己与观者抛出新的课题。当绘画变得无需服务于再现和写实,正是虚构性的引入使其真正耐人寻味起来。具象绘画曾因为它过于悠长的历史和某种象征着传统的身份被边缘化,又一次次被重新推回到舞台中心。在这样反复拉锯的过程里,人们对于形象的痴迷似乎已然成为了一种理所当然又不可名状的心理机制。文艺复兴时期的通才学者莱昂·巴蒂斯塔·阿尔伯蒂曾经提出颇为独到而启发性的观点:“人类史上首先进行绘画的,应该是那个变成水仙花的那喀索斯”。阿尔伯蒂无疑是将希腊神话的美少年那喀索斯所耽于的池水中自身的倒影看作是自画像乃至肖像绘画的起点。如果代入当下的语境,那喀索斯似乎扮演了创作者与观看者的双重身份,对于形象的沉醉与迷狂也由双方所共同持有。

一个形象的诞生从来不是无中生有,而是从被投注了情感的物的介质中浮现而出。甚至可以说,艺术家与创作有关的一切都是围绕着物质来展开的。除却承载着即将发生的未知的空白画布,颜料无疑是绘画绝对的核心。美国艺术史学家詹姆斯·埃尔金斯对此深信不疑,甚至把绘画与炼金术放在了用以比较的天平的两端。他声称物质“使之凝结成自身的影像。画家的脸变成了充满他头脑的物质的肖像”。对于一些形象来说,他们需要在故事情节的铺陈中现身,并在戏仿中把矛头指向原型。这些原型暗藏在艺术史的章节中,而艺术家所做的往往是通过现实中的模特去潜入遥远文本的深处。还有些时候,形象的存在不仅仅关乎形象自身,而是作为一种感悟的通道,去触及某一瞬间的时刻,或是进入一片意识流的时光里。作为具象画家的巴尔蒂斯一生创作了数不胜数的形象,被迷恋的同时又时常经历误读。他在晚年的回忆录中娓娓道来:“绘画并不是去塑造形象,而是去深入了解,步入秘密的核心”。而这样的理解唯有通过不断的对于形象的塑造才能获知。

绘画总是与言说相角力,正因为如此绘画作为一种创作行为本身自始至终有着黑匣子一般的神秘性。唯有当形象向彼此敞开,隐秘的对话通道才随之逐渐显露。从各自的生命经验出发,这八位艺术家在各自的绘画领域塑造了截然不同的形象,并在某种程度上构成了独特的标签。而透过形象,亦能感知到他们彼此相互交错重合的美学追求与知识系统。

公众号名称:HIVEART2013

Encounter at a Crossing
Masaru Shichinohe

2022
Oil on canvas
162×97cm×3

Green Bamboo
Ren Xiaolin

2022
Oil on canvas
100×150cm

Bondage V
Song Kun

2022
Oil on canvas, PVC belt
125×90×6cm

Falling
Song Kun

2022
Oil on board
26×36.5×4cm

Angle
Tan Yongqing

2022
Oil on canvas
360×135cm

Golden Portrait
Tan Yongqing

2022
Oil on canvas
190×200cm

Cyan Existence
Zhu Zhengming

2022
Ink and color on silk
198×115cm

Girl
Duan Jianwei

2021
Oil on canvas
50×40cm

Painting I
Ren Xiaolin

2021
Oil and color chalk, oil pastel, charcoal on paper
110×79cm

Painting II
Ren Xiaolin

2021
Oil and color chalk, oil pastel, charcoal on paper
110×79cm

Painting III
Ren Xiaolin

2021
Oil and color chalk, oil pastel, charcoal on paper
110×79cm

Tears of Seamaid-Tide of the moon
Song Kun

2021
Oil on canvas
190×130×7cm

Cyber Singer-Akini Jing
Song Kun

2021
Oil and glass bead, luminous color on canvas
225×145×5cm

Ranger
Wei Jia

2021
Acrylic on canvas
205×300cm

Lasting Hermit
Zhu Zhengming

2021
Ink and color on silk
112×198cm

Northwest
Duan Jianwei

2020
Oil on canvas
73×60cm

Idol-David and Goliath II
Gong Chenyu

2019
Sketch on paper
296×197.5cm

Idol-Model
Gong Chenyu

2019
Sketch on paper
122.5×98.5 cm

Weight of Night
Masaru Shichinohe

2018. Oil on panel. 51×36cm.

About Friendship
Masaru Shichinohe

2018. Oil on panel. 51×36cm.

My Sun
Wei Jia

2018
Acrylic on canvas
220×190cm

Taking a Rest
Duan Jianwei

2016. Oil on canvas. 130×160cm.

Children Squatting
Duan Jianwei

2004. Oil on canvas. 132×110cm.

艺术家 | Artists:

段建伟|Duan Jianwei,龚辰宇|Gong Chenyu, 七户優|Masaru Shichinohe, 任小林|Ren Xiaolin, 宋琨|Song Kun, 谭永勍|Tan Yongqing,韦嘉|Wei Jia, 祝铮鸣|Zhu Zhengming

策展人 | Curator:

于非 | Yu Fei

Hive Center for Contemporary Art is pleased to present its first group exhibition of the year, “Myth of Figures,” from March 19 to May 4, 2022, in exhibition hall A. Curated by Yu Fei, this show features eight artists who focus on figurative painting, including Duan Jianwei, Gong Chenyu, Masaru Shichinohe, Ren Xiaolin, Song Kun, Tan Yongqing, Wei Jia, and Zhu Zhengming. This exhibition collocates different densities of brushstrokes and textures, collectively observing how they evoke the subjects of their work that reside in various contexts of spacetime.

Since the human figure’s prehistoric transformation in rock art, the history of painting has witnessed its absolute protagonist. The way that the human figure is portrayed is shattered, overturned, reinvented, consolidated, and continually repeated through navigating in the extensive and manifold periods of history. The artists are always able to initiate new subjects at themselves and the viewer in the creative production of figurative painting. As painting separates itself from the purpose of serving for replication and realism, the introduction of fiction makes it intriguing. Figurative painting had been marginalized with its prolonged history and a certain identity that symbolizes tradition, and yet once again been brought back to the center of the stage. In this tug-of-war process, the obsession with the figures has seemingly become a psychological mechanism that is both taken for granted and indescribable. Leon Battista Alberti, a Renaissance humanist, once proposed an original and enlightening view: “The inventor of painting was Narcissus, who was turned into a flower.” Alberti undoubtedly regarded the self-reflection in the pool of water, in which the beautiful youth Narcissus of Greek mythology dwelt, as the starting point of self-portrait and even portrait. In the contemporary context, Narcissus seems to have played the dual identity of the creator and the viewer, while the intoxication and ecstasy of the figure are shared by both.

The birth of a figure is never fabricated out of thin air but emerges from the medium of matter in which emotions are invested. One might even say that everything the artist does with their work revolves around the matter. Apart from the blank canvas that holds the unknown of what is to come, paint is undoubtedly the prepotent essence of painting. American art historian James Elkins was so convinced that he compared painting and alchemy at opposite ends of a scale. He claimed that matter “condenses into a figure of itself. The painter’s face becomes a portrait of the matter that fills their mind.” For some figures, they need to appear in the context of the narrative and direct at the archetype in parody. These archetypes are concealed in the chapters of art history, and what the artist often does is diving into the depths of distant texts based on their models in reality. Sometimes, the presence of a figure concerns more than just itself but serves as a perceptive channel in reaching a moment in time or in entering a piece of time in a stream of consciousness. A figurative painter, Balthus had created countless figures, fascinated and often misinterpreted throughout his life. In his memoir in later years, he remarked: “To paint is not to represent, but to penetrate, to go to the heart of the secret.” Such an understanding can only be achieved through constant practice of figuration.

Painting always wrestles with words and thus has always contained the enigma of a black box as a creative approach. It is only when the figures are candid with each other that the enclosed channels of dialogue are gradually revealed. These eight artists have each shaped distinctive figure in their respective fields of painting and have contrived unique characterization to a certain extent. Through figures, their intertwined and overlapping aesthetic pursuits and knowledge systems are thus disclosed.

Please scan the QR code to follow us on WeChat :HIVEART2013