迟早01_1
李维伊

2020. 不锈钢镀金,收藏级数码打印. 110×103×20cm.

迟早01_2
李维伊

2020. 不锈钢镀金,收藏级数码打印. 40×58×19cm.

迟早03_1
李维伊

2020. 不锈钢镀金,收藏级数码打印. 142×62×21cm.

迟早03_4
李维伊

2020. 不锈钢镀金,收藏级数码打印. 65×45×13cm.

迟早06_2
李维伊

2020. 不锈钢镀金,收藏级数码打印. 32×49×11cm.

造像研究
李维伊

2020. 收藏级数码打印. 69.9×46.6cm×8.

玉指
宋琨

2020. 日本进口木板油画,日本玻璃树脂. 25×36cm.

花溅泪
宋琨

2020. 日本进口木板油画,日本玻璃树脂. 25×36cm.

泛灵净界 – 潮汐
宋琨

2019. 布面油画. 140×180cm.

质疑者
宋琨

2019. 布面油画,亚克力外框. Φ50cm.

秘密的部分
宋琨

2019. 布面油画,亚克力水珠,亚克力外框. Φ50cm.

泛灵净界 – 合十
宋琨

2018. 布面油画. 40×30cm.

泛灵净界 – 灵隐者
宋琨

2017. 布面油画. 45×60cm.

蜂巢当代艺术中心荣幸地宣布,将于2020年12月5日至2021年1月26日在主展厅A厅举办群展“变身之间”。作为“2020北京798艺术节”系列展览之一,本次展览由蜂巢策展人于非策划,邀请李维伊、宋琨、孙一钿、张移北、祝铮鸣五位艺术家参展。她们以绘画、雕塑、装置等媒介在作品中进行着现实层面之外的对于躯体的变形与身份的置换,在空间中构成相互之间形态各异,又分别自恰的独立生态。

如果在搜索引擎中去定位“变身”的词条,会发现它被释义为“一种架空的身体形态变化”,直指源于日语中躯体变形的技能属性,是广泛应用于二次元文化的基础设定。我们对此自然并不陌生。那些拥有特异功能的少男少女,和具有魔法的神兽与精灵总能在千钧一发之际摇身一变,实现在短暂的时间范围内某项特定技能的飞跃或完整机体的升级,最终每每得以化险为夷。作为观众与玩家的我们在不知不觉之间习惯于将“变身”认定为流行文化中虚拟世界的专利与特权。若是打破次元壁与时空的界限则不难发现,“变身”实际上有着颇为庞杂与漫长的历史可供追溯。

正如人类在迥异的神话传统里不约而同的由尘土塑造成形,原始宗教坚信自己的祖先是由某一种特定的动物、植物或无生物转化而来,古希腊的神祗皆由自然界中的事物幻化生成且可变形为万物,炼金术士用上百年的时间进行点石成金与人造人的试炼,再到来自民间口口相传汇集而成的史诗、寓言、童话故事、志怪小说中那些光怪陆离、千奇百怪的际遇,凡此种种不胜枚举。正是这些来自历史深处,由臆想、图像、口述、文本交替演进编制而成的多重生态的集合体,将“变身”作为一种跨文化跨时代的内在共识与神秘情结进一步推到了我们当代生活的台前。正是在这样的背景下,艺术创作者们得以畅快而自由的进行她们对于身体、存在和生命带有无限流动性的想象。

展览中的五位艺术家不约而同的在彼此的创作中保有着“生物多样性”的气质,在勾连起各不相同的造像系统与物质元素的同时,构建出非脸谱化的形象与难以轻易识别的多重身份。她们并不满足于制造猎奇的视觉形象,而是更加乐于培植可以自由生长的机体以及发掘与之对应的文化生态。在此,躯体是一切故事初始发生的场域,是开展造像仪式的道具,更是承载无限可能性身份的容器。就这样,艺术家们打造着各自的偶像,创建着不凡的图腾与奇观。从身体性物理界限的破壁开始,她们便游走在某种显而易见的真实之外,在不同的神话故事、宗教系统、与流行文化中自由穿行,如同享有了时空的任意门。

公众号名称:HIVEART2013

Sooner or Later 01_1
Li Weiyi

2020. Gold-plated stainless steel, Epson ultra giclée print. 110×103×20cm.

Sooner or Later 01_2
Li Weiyi

2020. Gold-plated stainless steel, Epson ultra giclée print. 40×58×19cm.

Sooner or Later 03_1
Li Weiyi

2020. Gold-plated stainless steel, Epson ultra giclée print. 142×62×21cm.

Sooner or Later 03_4
Li Weiyi

2020. Gold-plated stainless steel, Epson ultra giclée print. 65×45×13cm.

Sooner or Later 06_2
Li Weiyi

2020. Gold-plated stainless steel, Epson ultra giclée print. 32×49×11cm.

Icon Project
Li Weiyi

2020. Epson ultra giclée print. 69.9×46.6cm×8.

Beauty’s Finger
Song Kun

2020. Oil on Japanese-imported wood board, Japanese glass resin. 25×36cm.

Burst into tears
Song Kun

2020. Oil on Japanese-imported wood board, Japanese glass resin. 25×36cm.

Pure Land- The Tide
Song Kun

2019. Oil on canvas. 140×180cm.

Tell me Why
Song Kun

2019. Oil on canvas, acrylic frame. Φ50cm.

Keep a secret
Song Kun

2019. Oil on canvas, acrylic bead, acrylic frame. Φ50cm.

Pure Land-Namaste
Song Kun

2018. Oil on canvas. 40×30cm.

Pure Land-Hermit Fairy
Song Kun

2017. Oil on canvas. 45×60cm.

Hive Center for Contemporary Art is honored to announce the opening of the group exhibition Morphing in-between at exhibition hall A from December 5, 2020, to January 26, 2021. As a part of the Beijing 798 Art Festival series, this exhibition is curated by Hive curator Yu Fei, featuring works of artists Li Weiyi, Song Kun, Sun Yitian, Zhang Yibei, and Zhu Zhengming. The artists exercise paintings, sculptures, installations, and other media in their works to achieve the transformation of the body and the replacement of identities outside of reality and to form independent ecologies that comparatively differ in structure but distinctly remain self-consistent.

Through a search engine, you can refer the “transformation” in animation to “a fictional change of the body”, which comes directly from a Japanese word meaning the shape-shifting skill and is widely applied as a basis of Nijigen or ACG culture. It’s certainly quite a familiar thing to us. With special abilities or magic, teenage characters, boys or girls, and divine animals and fairies can always get to transform their bodies at critical moments, and, for a limited time, they will have the abilities or upgraded mechanisms to eventually save the day. As the audience and game-players, we’ve grown used to the recognition of “transformation” as an exclusive element or privilege of all the fictional worlds in popular culture. If we can see through the dimension wall and connect different parts of time and space, we’ll find that there is a rather complicated and long history of “transformation”.

As certain mythologies coincidentally tell us that the human body was developed from dust, primitive religions believe that our ancestors transformed from certain animals, plants, or nonliving matter, ancient Greek deities were all born from different things in the natural world and can shift their shape into anything, and alchemists spent over a hundred years trying to turn stone into gold and create humanlike beings. Besides, there are innumerable grotesque fantasies about it in epics, fables, fairy tales, and mystery novels – folk stories passed down orally. All these multi-ecosystem ensembles are rooted in the depths of history and woven evolutionarily in alternate forms such as imagination, image, oral account, and text, and they are the very key for “transformation” to take a further part in our contemporary life as an internalized common view and mysterious complex that transcends culture and time. It’s in this context when artists can enjoy the freedom of imagination about the body, existence, and life.

Coincidentally, the five artists of the exhibition all make art characteristic of “biodiversity”, and, while connecting different iconographic systems and material elements, they construct images not stereotyped and multiple identities not easily recognized. Not content with making curious visual figures, they are more willing to cultivate mechanisms that can grow freely and develop cultural ecosystems accordingly. In this sense, the body is the field where every story begins, the tool to kick off the ritual of icon-making, and also the vessel of identity with infinite possibilities. So the artists are making their icons and creating extraordinary totems and spectacles. By breaking the physical boundary of the body, they have been drifting outside some conspicuous reality and wandering freely across different myths, religious systems, and popular cultures, as if they had the access to a door that can fetch you anywhere anytime.

Please scan the QR code to follow us on WeChat :HIVEART2013